ASIMO is a humanoid robot developed by Honda and announced on November 20, 2000. The original announcement describes a smaller bipedal platform following Honda’s P2 and P3 prototypes. This historical record covers the announcement generation; later ASIMO versions must be documented as distinct generations.[1]
This record describes 2000 announcement. Last reviewed 2026-10-04. Compare specifications.
History
2000-11-20 — Honda unveils ASIMO, a small humanoid robot following its P2 and P3 programs.[1]
Intended applications
Research.[1]
Specifications
Manufacturer-published figures are claims unless supported by independent verification. Units are converted from stored canonical measurements; conversions do not change the evidence status.
| Specification | Value | Evidence | Source date | Verified/reviewed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Height | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| Weight | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| Payload | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| Runtime | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| Walking speed | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| Running speed | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| Degrees of freedom | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| Hand design | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| Hand DOF | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| Fingers | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| Actuators | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| Processor | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| AI platform | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| Operating system | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| Sensors | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| Cameras | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| Battery capacity | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| Charging time | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| Connectivity | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| Price | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| Maximum arm load | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| Depth sensors | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| LiDAR | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| Force sensors | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| Tactile sensors | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| Microphones | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| Teleoperation | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
| Autonomous operation | Not publicly disclosed | No indexed evidence | Not stated | — |
Generations and revisions
2000 announcement · Announced 2000-11-20
See also
References
- Honda announces ASIMOHonda · Manufacturer · Published 2000-11-20 · Accessed 2026-10-04↑ Return to article
- Honda robotics development historyHonda · Manufacturer · Publication date not stated · Accessed 2026-10-04↑ Return to article
- Honda robotics development historyHonda · Manufacturer · Publication date not stated · Accessed 2026-10-04↑ Return to article